Meeting Brian Porter

Brian Porter is from Indiana. Recently, when he and his wife were traveling, the airlines announced they were overbooked and offered vouchers and later flights for anyone willing to give up their seats. BBrianPorterrian volunteered and used the voucher to make a search trip to New Mexico.

Did I mention he’s from Indiana?

The next time I get lazy about driving a couple hours up North on a weekend, I’m going to remind myself of Brian.

He contacted me, first by mail to let me know he was landing in Albuquerque, and offered to buy me lunch if we could get together. He wasn’t aware that I had already headed North for the weekend. We exchanged a few texts and discovered he was West of the Rockies and I was East, but Taos was, relatively speaking, between us.

So, with a little more texting we organized a meetup at the Coffee Shop near Moby Dickens Book Shop in Taos, New Mexico on Sunday, November 10, 2013.

We spent about two hours exchanging war stories related to our respective treasure hunts. I offered to let him stay at my place in Albuquerque because his flight was Monday morning, but my mother’s passing prevented me from getting back to Albuquerque.

It was fun and informative meeting another searcher, especially one who has put as much research and thought into the effort as has Brian. We had of course, both searched the same area he had come to recon with this trip. He wasn’t quite prepared for New Mexico’s forest roads, but survived the adventure with a flair, and plans to return.

I let him know that whenever he returned to New Mexico, he had a place to stay in Albuquerque.

4 thoughts on “Meeting Brian Porter

      • Ahh cool. I took it down. I started chasechat.com which is a forum/message board about the chase and spend a lot of time on there. Toby’s been real helpful on it too providing his videos which has been great.

Comments are closed.