Images: Meteor Crater, Arizona (Panorama)

Panorama: Meteor Crater, Arizona

Panorama: Meteor Crater, Arizona

On the return trip from the Thanksgiving Vacation Black Canyon Run to my home in New Mexico on I-40, I passed by the infamous Meteor Crater, over 550 feet deep, and about a mile across. Recently, I have been exploring the “Scene:Options:EasyPanorama” function on my Nikon Coolpix L610 and LW110 point-and-shoot cameras and concluded that the crater would made an ideal subject.

So, I made about a one-hour stop, toured the museum, played with the extinction event asteroid simulator, and got the shot above. Click on the thumbnail to see it in its full-sized glory. The damage was done by a rock about 15 meters long traveling around 26,000 kph.

(Surprising how little it would take for the universe to end life on earth as we know it)

Meteor Crater Courtesy of Google Earth

Meteor Crater Courtesy of Google Earth

One thought on “Images: Meteor Crater, Arizona (Panorama)

  1. I like the pano Toby; you did a good job with it…….It’s amazing what some of the cameras will do.

    My wife and I stopped by there last summer on our way back from Texas. It’s very difficult for a photo to show how immense that hole is…..I have seen it before but my wife had never seen it. When we were there they were doing a lot of work on the visitor’s center…….It looked like it was going to be real nice when they finished……… I liked all of the signs on the road to the crater.

    You are right; it’s amazing that a small rock can make such a big hole. Can you imagine what the blast wave would have been like. Good ol Mother Earth has annihilated 99% of the species that have inhabited our planet. Mankind’s only chance of survival is to get off this rock.

Comments are closed.