If you’ve been wise, and found the blaze…

ThreeWiseMenblueskyandstars

Then Herod, when he had privily called the wise men, enquired of them diligently what time the star appeared.
And he sent them to Bethlehem, and said, Go and search diligently for the young child; and when ye have found him, bring me word again, that I may come and worship him also.
When they had heard the king, they departed; and, lo, the star, which they saw in the east, went before them, till it came and stood over where the young child was.
10 When they saw the star, they rejoiced with exceeding great joy.

Matthew, Ch 2, Vs 7-10,
The New Testament
King James Version of the Bible

I had a dream.

I dreamed I was standing at the edge of a canyon, hydraulically routed down the geology of someplace in the mountains North of Santa Fe. I was on the Western side of the canyon, facing East, the river below flowing North to South. The sun was low, but not near setting in the sky, casting my shadow across the canyon so that it fell upon the far wall. As the sun set and my shadow rose my ephemeral head eventually I had a dream.pointed to a large star shape in the rock on the East wall of the canyon. It was large enough to be seen without aid, and difficult to discern whether it was natural or not.

Anchoring myself with a rope, and a pair of carabiner clipped to a safety belt, I walked to the edge of the canyon and leaned over. I looked quickly down, and could see the faint, cool outline of a trail switching back and forth from the canyon floor to the canyon rim North of my position. About three quarters up the side of the canyon wall one of the ledges on its side stood out from the others. In a depression on the ledge  laid a brown box. The ledge was high enough above the trail that the box could not be seen by anyone walking upon the trail as it continued North from that point.

By that time the sun had set, and dusk had fallen upon the location. I wondered, for just a moment, whether or not the treasure would tolerate one more night alone, cold, undiscovered and uncared for.

I stood back from the canyon edge, untangled myself from the safety belt and anchor rope, hoisted my pack upon my back, and headed for my campsite. I found a grassy spot near my tent, and using my backpack for a pillow, I laid down to admire the stars in the unpolluted sky overhead. The moon not having risen, the Constellations shown almost in neon. I called their names out to them. They did not call out my name to me.

Protected by Orion’s sword, I fell asleep outside my tent and sleeping bag.

And, I had a dream.

12 thoughts on “If you’ve been wise, and found the blaze…

  1. May be late for the wish, but Merry Christmas to you and yours Toby. ..Think that spiral may have more to do with the supernova of 1054 than a comet…just a thought.

    • Hey, Ken…you don’t need to search me, I’m not carrying anything. Actually, the only thing I’m searching for is my suitcase. I’m headed to the Mid Atlantic to be with the 3 youngest daughters for the holidays. Back on January 2. Hope you and yours have a grand holiday week.

  2. Nice one Toby! I make it a point to consult the stars every now and again. Orion the Hunter holds a special place in my heart. I speak to my dad through Orion…

  3. Beautiful Toby, and so appropriate for the season – If I don’t get the chance to speak with you before the Holidays (I’ll try) – Merry Christmas sir!!!! -bp-

  4. Outstanding story, I wish I could get some sleep and have a dream…I was thinking earlier today on how cool it would have been to have travelled with the “Three Wise Men.” I studied some petroglyphs tonight and thought the same on a similar pattern, insect or star, but the spiral has my interest most. The spiral is global and travel wasn’t…For some reason, the spiral went viral back then. The Chase has matured and I hope the best for Renelle.

    • Michael…there is something about the spiral, isn’t there. Even the Puebloans picked up on it. Some anthropoligists say that it has something to do with a comet that all the ancient cultures saw. I’ll see if I can find a reference for you someplace.

Comments are closed.