I am Forrest Fenn.

The Place of PeaceI am Forrest Fenn.

I was born in 1930, and have lived during times of great difficulty and great promise.

I am a man of the real world, and not an imaginary one.

I am a man of unshakeable commitment; to my life, to my work, to my service; but most especially, to my family.

I am a man of the outdoors, as was my father before me. From him, I learned to love and respect nature.

I am a man of the past and the future. The present is only a river-washed stepping-stone between them.

I am a man of words and letters. And, if I have to make up my own, I do.

I am a man of contrasts. Sometimes intentional, sometimes not.

I am a man of eclectic tastes and interests. Enough to fill more than a single  lifetime.

I am a man of action and adventure, big and small, but, always with an objective.

I am a man of direction. I know where I am, where I’m going and how I will get there.

So…where would I hide a treasure if I had a treasure that wanted to be hidden?

I would hide it where the ancients and mountain men could appreciate and understand.

I would hide it in place that is magical in its simplicity.

I would hide it near my home, if my home were the mountains and along the river bottoms where dreams and fantasies alike go to play.

I would hide it in the past, and in the future. The present is only a river-washed stepping-stone between them.

I would hide it in The Place of Peace.

I am Forrest Fenn.

12 thoughts on “I am Forrest Fenn.

    • Haven’t seen a snowflake here in Albuquerque for a couple of months. Some up on the mountain, but not enough to open the ski area. Looks like we’re in for a light winter. Glad to see you’re home safe.

  1. Toby, There seem to be many opinions of Forrest the man… Coupled w/ the knowledge that he had a tendency to bend the rules and live out there on the edge, one would have to acknowledge that it is nearly impossible to identify any signature traits of his and be 100% accurate… It seems to me that Forrest did fly by the seat of his pants in every day life (even though he is a highly skilled pilot by trade)… You touched on this in your Jekyll and Hyde episode…. Being able to adapt to the situation at hand made the man. Some of my best friends growing up, were complete failures in school. They now are successful business men and women who are masters at adapting to their environs.. They take risks when they have to and are situational geniuses…Not being content w/ a normal day at the office and willing to stir the pot to get some action pretty much sums it up. All just my opinion of course…

  2. Interesting post Toby, especially since you’ve been able to speak to Fenn in person. I have never met Fenn but from my perspective I disagree with a few of your observations. I hope you don’t take offense to my thoughts……It’s just an opinion from someone that has never met Fenn.

    I am a man of the real world, and not an imaginary one.

    First thing I think of is him saying imagination is more important than knowledge. The next thing is, “It doesn’t matter who you are it only matters who they think you are”. He lived and worked in the imaginary world of art with movie stars and rich people. Value has no real meaning in that world; something is worth what Fenn can convince them it is worth. The forgeries for example……..(He did point out some of the absurdness of the art world in some of his stories.) Fenn had an alligator in his pond (heated I assume) in the middle of a high mountain desert that is Santa Fe. He wanted to be an archeologist so he buys a pueblo. It sounds to me like his world was more imaginary than real.

    I am a man of direction. I know where I am, where I’m going and how I will get there.

    I think Fenn just winged it a lot of the time relying on his ingenuity and resourcefulness to get him through the rough spots; for example he started a foundry in Santa Fe but soon changed to art dealer. He said in Scrapbook 13 on Dal’s site one of his great pleasures was “…going to the airport, pushing the hangar doors open, cranking up that beautiful sounding 350 HP Lycoming engine, and heading north for Montana or Wyoming, not knowing or caring where I would land.”

    http://dalneitzel.com/2013/02/23/scrapbook-thirteen/

    I would hide it near my home, if my home were the mountains and along the river bottoms where dreams and fantasies alike go to play.

    This certainly makes sense; the same case could be made for Yellowstone and his history there……Some say the last place he would hide it is in New Mexico or Yellowstone because of his obvious emotional attachments to those places. If I had to bet on one state I don’t know which it would be and I wouldn’t bet much because I simply don’t know.

    To quote another famous Forrest…… “That’s all I have to say about that”. 🙂

    • Re: your first and second opinions – I stand by what I’ve written. Re: your third opinion – There are mountains and river bottoms in States other than New Mexico, which was neither necessarily intended or implied. “I would hide it near my home, IF my home were the…”

  3. Toby… The photo you picked for this thread is def appropriate… forest fen for sure. Nice to see an organized list of Fenn attributes…It paints a subtle picture of the subject, to help feel in tune.. Nice job!

  4. Toby. Is this how you see Forrest, or are these words that Forrest has written for you to put on your blog? These are times of great difficulty, where much of the youth don’t see promise. I am in hue of blue, and imagination is my only window. Maybe this blog will light a path for me with all of the wonderful thoughts of Forrest. As I too have always taken each and every first step of the day for my family. Thank you for all you have done.

Comments are closed.